Skip to content

News Tidbits: WHC & BFA Longlist

March 23, 2010

I’ll be going down to the World Horror Convention in Brighton this Thursday.  For those of you attending, I will be displaying my artwork in the Art Show and taking part in some of the scheduled events/panels there.  The Art Show will be open for viewing at the following times: 2-6pm on Friday, 10am-6.30pm on Saturday and 10am-2pm on Sunday.  There will also be an Art Show Reception from 5-6.30pm on the Saturday where attenedees will be able to meet the artists and view the work over a drink.

On Saturday from 11am-noon I’ll be at the TELOS TEA PARTY where my ALTERED VISIONS art book will be launched alongside Simon Clark’s new novella, HUMPTY’S BONES.

On Sunday I’ll be on the ‘Paint or Pixel?’ panel between 2-3pm.  Here is the description for this panel:
‘PAINT OF PIXEL?: DO COVER ARTISTS STILL NEED TO KNOW HOW TO PAINT
Is the painting of book covers becoming a lost art?  It certainly appears so, with more and more publishers adopting digital graphics to sell their books.  So can you really tell a book by its cover, and is it time for some artists to adapt or die?’
Should make for an interesting discussion!

The British Fantasy Society has now released the longlist for the 2010 British Fantasy Awards.  The full list can be found here.  The awards are voted on by members of the British Fantasy Society and FantasyCon attendees.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 11:08

    It was great to meet you there! There’s a photo of you up on the blog.

    I’m so pissed that most of your prints had gone by Sunday. :-(

    Are you on facebook or twitter or anything?

    – Jenni (the girl from Solaris in the dealers’ room)

    • March 31, 2010 09:48

      Hey Jenni was really great meeting you too!

      Thanks for posting the photo – I’m glad I don’t look as bad as I thought I would in it!

      I’m not on facebook or twitter at the moment but will let you know if I ever set up an account.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

