Skip to content

Recommendation: Ponyo

February 22, 2010

Last week I saw the new Studio Ghibli film, Ponyo. It’s the latest from acclaimed animation legend Hayao Miyazaki who both wrote and directed it. Inspired by ‘The Little Mermaid’ the plot centres around a fish-girl, who after running away from her father’s underwater castle and befriending a young boy, wants to become a human girl.

I’ve long been a fan of Miyazaki’s work and was not disappointed with his latest offering. As with all his films he draws you into a magical and surreal world, inviting you to suspend disbelief and be carried away by his wild imagination. It’s a simple tale that draws you in and makes you forget about your cares for an hour or two, letting you recapture the wonderment you experienced as a kid. Although some have felt that this is aimed at a younger audience I believe children and adults alike will enjoy it.

Those who are tired of the recent spate of 3D animated films should definitely see Ponyo, which is a brilliant reminder of how beautiful traditional hand-drawn animation can be and leaves no doubt that there is still very much a place for it.

If you’ve not seen any of Miyazaki’s films before, you should not only check out Ponyo but his back catalogue too, which includes Kiki’s Delivery Service, Princess Mononoke, Howl’s Moving Castle and my personal favourite, Spirited Away.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 12:11

    I usually love his stuff as well, Howl’s Moving Castle being my favorite, but I really disliked this one. It seemed really short and the story was kind of bland. I don’t know…maybe my expectations were too high.

    • June 18, 2010 09:53

      I think it did seem a little more lightweight than some of his previous films and maybe the story was more basic, but I still thought it was very fun to watch and am always blown away by his animation.

  2. June 16, 2010 12:14

    Oh and I love your stuff btw, your artwork. I wish I could draw like that. Right now I’m starting with Roy Lichtenstein-type pop art. Would you say that’s a good place to start since there’s little detailing to do?

    • June 18, 2010 09:54

      Sounds like a good idea. When starting out you should definitely look at different art styles and artists that inspire you and see what you can learn from them.

Trackbacks

  1. Jean-Pierre Jeunet & Micmacs « Vincent Chong Art

Leave a Reply

