Skip to content

Black House Cover Art

March 11, 2010

This is the cover art for the Polish edition of Black House published by Prószyński i S-ka.  Written by Stephen King and Peter Straub, it’s the sequel to The Talisman.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 03:32

    I like this cover a lot….
    I’m interested in your process of creating a cover like this… what sort of resource images do you use if any? What mediums did you draw in… Do you need to do a lot of concept thumbnails?

    • April 2, 2010 10:07

      With every image I start out doing rough thumbnails to work out the composition. I don’t tend to do colour roughs but will work out a colour scheme in my mind. The final images are usually created by combining various mixed-media, photographic and hand painted or drawn elements in Photoshop. You can see some examples of my rough thumbnails for a cover in an earlier post ‘From Commission to Cover’.

  2. April 2, 2010 20:55

    Thanks for the response! That was a great post on the Necropolis cover.

    It made me wonder… have you ever done a bunch of concept art and then had the project end without any finished work?

    • April 4, 2010 14:25

      Thanks Jake. Glad you enjoyed that post. I hope to put up more posts with behind-the-scenes stuff in the future.

      I’ve been quite lucky… I can only think of one job I did early on where I did some roughs but then the publisher decided to go in a different direction instead. They still used some of my photography and I got paid for the job though.

Trackbacks

  1. Ukrainian Edition of Stigmata | Vincent Chong Illustration & Design Blog

Leave a Reply

