Skip to content

Looking Back… and Forward

April 8, 2010

It’s my birthday tomorrow and as is prone to happen around these times I find myself in a reflective mood, which was further magnified by taking a trip earlier this week back to my old home town where I grew up, and meeting up with my art teacher from school whom I’d not seen in about nine years.

The last few years have been brilliant – I was finally able to make the switch to working full-time as an illustrator and designer, I’ve been getting more and more book cover commissions from people around the world, illustrated the work of authors like Stephen King that I’d never thought I’d be illustrating, won awards and just recently had my own art book published.  So, so far so good – things have been going as well as I could have dreamed.  But as always, there’s still so much I want to do and hope I will get the chance to do one day…

I’d love to work on a graphic novel or illustrated story, both collaborating with a writer and writing and illustrating my own work, if I ever come up with a story I’d like to tell.  I’ve been a big fan of graphic novels for as long as I can remember and would love to be able to do my own.  But creating sequential art is a different discipline to creating a single piece of cover art, so it’s something I’d have to spend time learning about and developing before I would try to embark on such a project.

I’ve designed a few album covers over the years and have let new bands use some of my old pieces of artwork for their CD covers but this side of things has been far overshadowed by my book cover work and I’ve been wanting to break into this area more for a while now.  After all, music is one of the things I draw inspiration from.

I’d like to experiment with more straightforward photographic work alongside the illustrative stuff I do at the moment.  Some of the images I find really striking are those I’ve seen in fashion photography.

Then there’s film-making…  With the other things I want to do, I’ve already had some sort of experience, but this is an area that I know very little about, but interests me a great deal.  The thought of working together with a bunch of other creative people to make a film really excites me, so this is something that I hope I’ll have the opportunity to look into one day.

These are just some of the things I can think of right now that I’d like to do in the future.  Maybe it’ll all change in a few years, and there’ll be other interests that I want to pursue…  Rather than thinking of myself within the strict boundaries of being just an ‘illustrator’ or a ‘designer’ I’ve always seen myself as someone open to exploring different means to satisfy his creative urgings.

As ever, there’s so much to do and so little time… So I guess I’d better stop writing about doing these things and get doing them!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 10:15

    A graphic novel illustrated by you would be a treasure indeed. Hope that happens one day!

  2. April 13, 2010 20:10

    Happy belated Birthday Vincent! Hope you get to do all the amazing things you dream about doing. You’re an incredibly talented artist!

    • April 14, 2010 10:03

      Thanks Joan! Hope you’re well. It was great meeting you at the WHC!

Leave a Reply

