Skip to content

The Wolf’s Hour Cover Design

May 29, 2010


Here’s the finished cover design for Subterranean Press’ limited edition of The Wolf’s Hour by Robert McCammon.  For this cover I was very much inspired by Drew Struzan’s movie posters for films such as Indiana Jones.  Struzan has a very distinctive style and has created many memorable posters for some of the biggest movies of all time – as a huge Star Wars fan when I was younger, his posters for the series are forever etched in my mind.

The Wolf’s Hour is an adventure novel set in World War II about a British secret agent who goes behind enemy lines in an attempt to stop the German’s new secret weapon from being unleashed – the twist being that the agent is a werewolf.  Although featuring a werewolf as the main protagonist, rather than being a straightforward horror, the adventure aspects came through most strongly for me and it recalls the feel of adventure and spy films, which is why I thought this ‘movie poster’ approach would make for a fitting cover.

This limited edition will also contain three colour interiors which I’ve also been working on.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 13:23

    I’m curious if you were also influenced by the cast of Inglourious Basterds. Your hero bares a striking resemblance to Til Schweiger, who played Sgt. Hugo Stiglitz, and your SS officer looks quite a lot like Christoph Waltz, who played Col. Hans Landa. Not that there’s anything wrong with using those actors as models.

    • Nick permalink
      June 4, 2010 02:22

      Totally, Jason! That was my exact thought upon seeing the art. I couldn’t help but imagine it was some sort of spin-off of Tarantino’s flick.

    • June 6, 2010 16:38

      I looked at various reference material to help with the character designs. For the men I actually used photos of a couple of friends but was also influenced by the characters from Inglourious Basterds too as you say, and for the girl I looked at Hollywood actresses from the 30s and 40s. So while they weren’t ever meant to look like the characters from that film, they may have come out with more of a resemblance than was intended.

      As a few people have commented that they look like the ‘Inglourious Basterds’ actors, I’ll be making a few revisions to the faces to make sure they’re distinctly different and not confused as having anything to do with the Tarantino film!

  2. Stephen Ellison permalink
    June 6, 2010 17:14

    Is there any possibility of prints of this being made available? A giclee would be nice ;-)
    I think Tarintino making “The Wolf’s Hour” movie would be a big plus for all involved.

    • June 8, 2010 10:26

      Hi Stephen. It will be made available as one of my standard prints (see ‘Prints’ section for info). I’ve no plans for doing any giclee prints at the moment but if in the future there’s demand for it, it’s something I may possibly consider.

  3. Charmaine permalink
    June 12, 2010 04:46

    I read Wolf’s Hour back in the late 80s early 90s and the one thing that stuck with me is how much it read like a movie. Back then I don’t think the special effects would have given your story its justice, but now I think it would be different. I would love to see the story on the big screen, any chance you will ever turn it into a screen play? It’s the only story I’ve ever read that came across so vividly in my mind. I’d be the first one with a ticket and popcorn if you decided to go in that direction.

    • June 13, 2010 22:15

      I don’t know if the author’s ever thought about adapting it into a screenplay or if Hollywood’s ever tried to option it, but it definitely played like a movie in my head as I read it so I totally agree with you and would love to see it put on the big screen myself!

      • June 13, 2010 23:55

        THE WOLF’S HOUR has been optioned for film several times over the years, but to date, nothing has ever happened. The current optioners have recently finished their script and are working hard to make it happen. Time will tell….

        Hunter
        ——–
        Webmaster for RobertMcCammon.com

Leave a Reply

