Skip to content

Doctor Who Exhibition

September 15, 2010

A few weeks ago I went to see the Doctor Who exhibition at the Centre for Life at Newcastle upon Tyne.  Growing up I was a big fan of Doctor Who, watching each episode with a mixture of fear and amazement at the myriad of monsters the Doctor faced which could range from being a bit silly to terrifying.  I remember being extremely creeped out by the Dalek’s creator, Davros (much more scary to me than the Daleks ever were!) and who still sends a shiver down my spine every time I see him, and I remember drawing pictures of the Cybermen, who were my favourite of all the Doctor’s many foes.

When Doctor Who returned to our screens, I didn’t start following it properly again until David Tennant’s stint on the show.  I absolutely loved his interpretation of the Doctor and it was largely due to his performances that got me hooked again.  I was sad to see him leave the show but Matt Smith has been a more than worthy successor and I thoroughly enjoyed the latest series.

So, as a big Doctor Who fan once again, I was very excited when I heard about the exhibition here in Newcastle, and I was not disappointed.  The exhibition showcases many props, costumes and monsters from various series including favourites such as the Daleks, Cybermen, Weeping Angels and even one of the clockwork androids from one of my favourite episodes, ‘The Girl in the Fireplace’. There’s even ‘behind-the-scenes’ displays showing how some of the creatures are made and a mock-up of the concept artists’ studio.  It was fantastic to see all these props and monsters in ‘real-life’ and I felt like a kid again wandering through all the exhibits and thinking how cool it would be to work on a show like this as a prop-maker or concept artist (maybe one day…).   The only let down was that there wasn’t a life-size Tardis for me to wander into!

The Doctor Who exhibition can still be seen at the Centre for Life until October 31st.  Tickets for adults are £9.95 (which also give you access to all other Centre for Life exhibits) and is well worth the price.  There should also be a permanent Doctor Who exhibition at Cardiff.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

