Skip to content

Trick or Treat…

April 12, 2011

Here’s my cover art for The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 22.  The art director suggested something with a Halloween theme and as I was working on this around Halloween time last year and was seeing pumpkins everywhere, this idea of ‘trapped’ faces and hands coming out of a carved pumpkin came to mind – sort of reversing the idea of carving something into a pumpkin.

I bought and carved a pumpkin which I photographed to use as the basis of the ‘evil’ pumpkin.  This was the first time I’d ever carved a Halloween pumpkin.

As you can see from the rough sketches below, I initially had the pumpkin sat on a table with a simple dark background, but editor Stephen Jones suggested adding the bag of spilt sweets on the stone steps leading to the door of a house to suggest more of a story element to it.

Constable & Robinson have posted an image of the cover design for Best New Horror 22 but it isn’t the finalized design yet so I’ll wait until that’s all done before posting it here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 09:43

    Wait… what? You’d never carved a pumpkin before? You haven’t lived! Mine have started to get a little more adventurous these days – with the help of a bag of nails, one of my 3 last Halloween was basically Pinhead. Some of the ones I’ve seen online, though, are absolutely incredible: they really go to town.

    Fabulous cover, by the way. Love it.

    • April 18, 2011 10:42

      I guess I had a very deprived childhood! I can’t even remember ever going trick or treating… I’ve seen the elaborate pumpkin carvings online too. Have you seen the one of the Predator – it’s fantastic!

  2. Tom permalink
    April 14, 2011 10:27

    That’s great and i have to say that i really like the bag of sweets on the step, makes it seem real sinister!

Trackbacks

  1. Best New Horror 22 Finished Cover Design « Vincent Chong Ilustration & Design Blog

Leave a Reply

