Skip to content

Transfigurations

August 12, 2013

transfigurations covertransfigurations

Here’s my cover artwork for Transfigurations by Michael Bishop.  The brief for this one was to do something in the style of Escher’s tessellation images (below are some examples), so it was a little different from what I usually do and a challenge to translate that concept to my style.

escher 4
escher 2
escher 3
escher

The idea from the editor and designer was to depict ape-like aliens changing into humans.  I also had the idea of ‘evolving’ the complexity of the images from simple line and flat colour to more complex lines and tonal colour whilst also changing them from ape-like alien to human.

I was a fan of Escher’s work so I was familiar with his tessellation images but had never tried to do anything like it before, so it was definitely a challenge and it was tricky at first to work out a shape that would tile and fit together correctly, and within which I could morph the human to the alien.  Luckily, I found some websites with some tips on how to go about creating your own tessellation images, which were a great help.  Having done a simple one of these myself now, I’m even more amazed and in awe of Escher’s complex tessellations!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2013 15:49

    Dear Vincent (if I may),
    My name is Michael Bishop, and you did the cover for the recent SF Masterworks edition of my novel TRANSFIGURATIONS. All I can say is that I am tremendously pleased, and indeed honored, by the work you’ve done. I offer my wholehearted thanks and ask you to forgive me for not getting back to you before now with this expression of my gratitude.
    Sincerely,
    Mike

    • November 26, 2013 21:04

      Hi Mike. Thank you very much your kind comments. I’m so glad to hear that you’re happy with my cover art for TRANSFIGURATIONS. I really enjoyed working on this cover!

Leave a Reply

