Skip to content

Robert McCammon Trade Paperbacks – They Thirst

January 23, 2015

Subterranean Press are planning to start releasing trade paperback editions of Robert McCammon’s novels this year.  I’ve been working on a couple of covers for these; here’s the first one, for his vampire novel, They Thirst.

they thirst

they thirst_art

Initially I proposed showing a vampire on the cover (see sketches below) but the publisher wanted to go in a different direction and wanted me to do something with the castle instead, partly because there are already a lot of vampire covers out there, including earlier editions of this novel, and also because they wanted to highlight the epic feel of the book, which a close-up of a vampire might not get across as well.

they thirst rough

As Subterranean Press are intending to release a number of McCammon trade paperbacks they wanted me to give the cover design a ‘branded’ look that can be carried forwards to other books.  They also wanted the author’s name and title to appear prominently at the top and bottom of the cover respectively, similar to the McCammon paperbacks of the 80s/90s.  So I had to take all this into account when designing the image and type layout.

I’ll post the cover I did for Blue World, which will also be released as one of these trade paperbacks, next week.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Siouxsie permalink
    January 24, 2015 17:18

    These are great!

    Am still in awe of work you did for my husband’s books. (Michael Langlois) You are incredibly talented!

    • January 26, 2015 18:43

      Thanks! Glad you like the stuff I’m doing!

      How is Mike by the way? I’ve not heard from him in ages. It was always great fun collaborating with him on his covers and I hope to get to work with him more in the future.

      • Siouxsie permalink
        January 28, 2015 00:55

        Mike has been very busy lately with the production of his board game. He is still working on his next novel, but it’s much slower going with his day job, and the board game.

        He mentioned you just a couple of days ago, said he missed working with you, and that he needed to get in touch. But time is always getting away from him.

      • January 28, 2015 22:54

        I know what it’s like having lots of things you want to do and not having enough time!

        Please say ‘Hi’ to Mike for me and tell him that I look forward to working with him again (hopefully sooner rather than later!)

      • Siouxsie permalink
        January 29, 2015 01:32

        I will! He should be getting in touch not too long from now. Have a great week! :)

  2. zidders permalink
    April 12, 2016 04:43

    This has been one of my favorite vampire stories since I first read it when it came out. I wish this edition was still in print. I only found out about it today. I think you did a great job capturing the feel of the story and genre without taking it too far away from its 80’s roots. Nice art.

Leave a Reply

