Skip to content

20th Century Ghosts Revisited

April 15, 2015

It’s been a while since my last post as it’s been a busy month for me.  I’ve been hard at work on a whole bunch of new artwork for PS Publishing’s 10th Anniversary Edition of Joe Hill’s 20th Century Ghosts short story collection.  The book will be out this year in time for FantasyCon in October, and ordering information should follow shortly on PS’s website.

I did the cover art for PS’s original editions of 20th Century Ghosts so it was cool to get to revisit the book after all this time.  For this 10th anniversary edition there will be trade and deluxe versions and I’ve been commissioned to do a number of pieces, each based on a different story from the collection.  So it’s been a blast getting the chance not only to work on the book again, but to be able to more fully explore and play with the cool imagery from Joe’s stories.

The original edition of 20th Century Ghosts was the first cover I did for PS Publishing; in fact it was one of my first book cover commissions, so it’s also been about ten years since I started working as an illustrator.  The collection also features the story You Will Hear the Locust Sing which was the first thing I was ever asked to illustrate, and which appeared in The 3rd Alternative magazine.  That is one of the stories I’ve chosen to illustrate for this new edition, and this time I’ve taken a completely different approach to how I illustrated it last time, so it was a lot of fun to work on.  But you’ll have to wait to see what I did for that one…!

In the meantime here are a couple of other finished images, which are planned as the wraparound cover pieces.  The first is based on the story, Pop Art, and the second is based on the title story 20th Century Ghost.  I’ll post more images for the book when I can.

pop art

20th century ghost

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dez permalink
    April 15, 2015 22:41

    Gorgeous, Vinny. Can’t wait to see the rest!

  2. July 7, 2015 13:24

    Beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. More Artwork from the 20th Century Ghosts 10th Anniversary Edition | Vincent Chong Illustration & Design Blog

Leave a Reply

