Skip to content

Digital Painting Practice

January 6, 2016

Happy New Year to everyone and I hope 2016 treats you all well!

Here’s something I did for fun, and to ease me back into work mode, during that weird time between Christmas and New Year when nobody really knows what to do with themselves.  I found an old pencil drawing I did way back, when I was still at school, of actress Emmanuelle Béart (you can see some more old drawings I did around that same time, that I posted previously here) and decided to turn it into a digital painting as a practice exercise.  I managed to find a photo online of the actress, similar to the one I must have based the original drawing on (I think it was of her in the first Mission Impossible film), to use as a guide.

Here’s the original pencil drawing:

emmanuelle beart sketch

Here’s some work-in-progress shots:

emmanuelle beart stage 1-2emmanuelle beart stage 3-4

And here is the final digital painting:

emmanuelle beart final

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

