Skip to content

Shining in the Dark Swedish Edition

September 20, 2018

Back in April a Kickstarter was launched to fund the Swedish edition of Shining in the Dark; not only was the project fully funded, but they reached the stretch goal to allow me to do some brand new cover art especially for the Swedish edition.  And here is the finished cover.

Below you can see the original version I created which included a skull at the top, which I removed to allow more space for the title to go over.  The designer was able to make the tentacle that originally went into the skull, interact with the title type, which was a nice little touch.

I worked closely with Hans-Åke Lilja, the editor of the anthology, on the concept for the cover.  Lilja had the idea to do an image that was in the same setting as the image that I did for the original US edition but from a different point of view – either from the main character, Marv’s point of view, or from behind him so we get to see what he is looking at, which had to be something scary…

I thought it was a cool idea to link the two covers in this way.  It seemed to me that it would be important to still show Marv on the cover as the book is celebrating the 20th anniversary of Lilja’s Library, which he’s the mascot of, and Lilja agreed.  So initially I was thinking we shouldn’t do it from Marv’s point of view, but go with a view from over his shoulder so he would still be seen in the image.  However, doing it this way we wouldn’t get to see Marv’s face, so I then came upon the idea that we could do it through Marv’s eyes, and one of the things he was looking at would be a mirror, allowing us to see his face reflected in it and therefore still have him represented on the cover.  Rather than a normal mirror I thought it could be a black mirror, and his reflection would be subtly different, giving him black eyes.  And various creepy things would be emerging from the mirror.

Lilja had also wanted to add a Swedish touch to the cover and had the idea to incorporate a Swedish edition of a book into the image somehow that Swedish fans would recognise.  Lilja was able to get permission from the Swedish publishers to incorporate some of their Swedish covers into our image in this way so I included a row of books on top of a mantelpiece which include the Swedish editions of Stephen King’s The Shining and John Ajvide Lindqvist’s X: The Last Place.

The Swedish edition of Shining in the Dark, titled Varsel i mörkret, will be out this year from Apart/Swedish Zombie.

Advertisements

Il Letto Rosso

September 6, 2018

My image, The Minister, which was originally created for the Polish edition of Revival, but was ultimately not used, has finally found a new home on the cover of Il Letto Rosso by Nicola Lombardi.

This Italian language novella will be released this month from Independent Legions Publishing.  You can preorder at the special price of €12.00 until the 9th September (usual price €14.00).

Walking With Ghosts

August 24, 2018

Here is my wraparound cover art for the forthcoming collection of short stories by Brian James Freeman.  Walking with Ghosts is available to order now from PS Publishing and will be out soon.  You can find the full list of contents here.

The Bone Thief Interiors

August 14, 2018

In addition to the cover art I did for The Bone Thief I did ten small black and white interior images that were used as chapter heading illustrations.

The Bone Thief

July 27, 2018

Here’s some cover art I did a couple of years ago for a children’s book for Random House.  The Bone Thief by Alyson Noël is a fantasy novel with a feel that would appeal to fans of Tim Burton and Wes Anderson.

The artwork above is the final version that appears on the book but it differs from the original version I created…  Originally the image featured an archway made of bent junk metal that framed the kids.  Altough everyone loved the original version, when it got to the marketing department, the message came back that books with archways featured on the cover don’t seem to sell as well…  So the decision was made to adapt the artwork and remove the arch!  Here’s how it was to look originally.

I’ve no idea if removing the arch helped shift any extra copies of the book!  But I like both versions so it worked out ok in the end.

Here are some sketches for different concepts we played around with initially.

Here’s the final sketch I did once we agreed on what direction to go in with the artwork.

And here’s a sketch I did, once the decision was made to remove the arch, for how to adapt the image.

For the title I also played around with forming the words out of bent cutlery.

German Editions from Festa Verlag

July 13, 2018

A couple of German edition books that feature my artwork coming from Festa Verlag

First off is Frostitute by Glen Frost.  It’s out now in paperback and eback formats.

Next up is the German edition of the Shining in the Dark anthology compiled by Hans-Åke Lilja.   This is a limited edition of 1250 copies, which is out next month, but has already sold out.  There will be no reprint or ebook version of this one.

Revelation

June 25, 2018

Here’s another piece of cover art I did for Ryk E. Spoor.  It’s for the first book in his Demons of the Past series, entitled Revelation.  I’m currrently working on the cover art for the sequel.

Revelation is published by Double Dragon and is out now.

The Human Division

June 15, 2018

It’s been many years since Subterranean Press released their edition of Zoe’s Tale, but at last, they’ll be releasing their limited edition of the next book in John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War series.  The Human Division should be out this month and here is the cover I designed.

The Scream Factory

June 1, 2018

This is a piece I did back in 2014 for The Best of The Scream Factory which reprints articles from the horror magazine The Scream Factory: The Magazine of Horrors Past, Present and Future which ran from 1988 to 1997.  The book should be out soon from Cemetery Dance.

I worked with one of the editors, Robert Morrish, on the concept for this cover.  He had the idea to either do a ‘re-interpretation’ of the cover art for Scream Factory #1 or have an illustration that was heavy on factory imagery.  Here are some of the images he sent me from the original magazine for reference and inspiration.

I loved the idea of doing a re-interpretation of the cover of issue #1 so I ran with that, also incorporating the factory into the background.  Here are my rough sketches.

French Roast Apocalypse

May 23, 2018

This is my cover art for French Roast Apocalypse which is volume one of the Fall of Veils series by Kathleen Moffre-Spoor and Ryk E. Spoor.  The book is out now from Double Dragon Publishing.

Here are my rough sketches playing around with the composition.

%d bloggers like this: